photo Vanni di Ponzano
B.C. / Canada

T: +1 604 928
E: Send email:


Linkages: Ponzano & Bopjet .

History: Tour de White Rock

Tour de White Rock 1999

In 1999, the Tour de White Rock celebrated its 20th year as a world-class cycling event. Top national and international riders participating in the competitions were: Allison Sydor (Olympian and 4-time World mountain bike champion), Erin Carter and Tim Kilcullen (1999 National Individual Pursuit champions), Hugh Walton (Olympian and World Masters champion), Paul Henderson (1998 Commonwealth Games team), Anne Gariepy (1998 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist) and the tough Nutra-Fig Cycling Team headed by Olympian Luca Segato and veteran Road Racer Ron Schmeer.

The Tour de White Rock is recognized internationally for its tradition of superb organization and race routes that raise the bar for endurance and tactics. An enthusiastic and appreciative crowd is another hallmark of the event. As last year’s winner of the Men’s Criterium race declared, “The Tour de White Rock has the best audience of all the races I attend – it’s the secret jewel of racing in North America!”

On Saturday, July 11th, the Criterium events featured riders who excel in the high speed sprints, charging the hills, accelerating on the descents and taking the sharp corners shoulder-to-shoulder. Several participants grabbed cash from the Hot Lap sprints but finishing in front in the Pro events were:

Women’s Pro: Erin Carter (Team Elita); Alison Sydor (Volvo/Cannondale); Sara Neil (Trek/Volkswagon).
Men’s Pro: Chad Kozak (Bow/Republic); Hugh Walton (Hind/Merlin); Gerry Noble (Bike Barn).

The veteran riders of the Road Race turned out in force as teams and as individuals. Stepping up to the challenge of the long, steep hills and the thrill of the quick descents and amassing enough points to claim King and Queen of the Mountain titles were: Adam Livingston (Nutra-Fig Cycling) and Sandy Espeseth (Physical Culture). Espeseth also outpaced Alison Sydor and Erin Carter to win the Women’s Road Race event. The men’s event was dominated by the Nutra-Fig Cycling Team with Luca Segato, Ron Schmeer and Aaron Olson stepping onto the podium.

With a crowd that energizes the riders, a route that challenges their skills and endurance, and an organizing committee focused on the participants, the 20th Annual Tour de White Rock delivered … again!